Father’s Day Thoughts

June 17, 2007

dscf0180.jpgFather’s day has a very literal meaning to me.  The day Kira took the positive pregnancy test fell on Father’s day for both kids.  No news this Father’s Day though.  Maybe next year?!  How about it Kira!  🙂    

  dscn0885.jpg   

I love my two kids so much.  I don’t know how I ever lived with out them.  I can barely make it through a whole day without seeing them.  

In honor of my amazing father who is now living in the Spirit World I wrote this poem

toddler-aaron-2.jpg

At 4:30 am in his office space, always having to have a front parking space

The fastidious Kent Lambert

 On the front row of Church with a tear in his eye, out doing his home teaching each month he would try

The devoted Kent Lambert

Reading new jokes and telling them too, even when some of us didn’t have a clue.

The hilarious Kent Lambert

Up until 12:00 watching political news, bashing the democrats hoping they’d lose

The republican Kent Lambert

Eating 3-week-old left overs and saying “they’re great, making us finish everything on our plate.  

The unwasteful Kent Lambert

Telling us to kiss him on the cheek then turning his face, tickling us up the stairs creating a chase

The playful Kent Lambert

Pulling us from bed for scriptures at quarter to six, trying a dozen diet plans his weight problem to fix.

The ambitious kent Lambert

Always being a Christ-like friend, faithful and true he endured to the end.

The disciple Kent Lambert

I love you Dad! 

5 Responses to “Father’s Day Thoughts”

  1. Vicki Says:

    I LOVED the poem–thank you so much!!What a great Dad you have.

  2. kimwalker Says:

    Aaron, I’m so proud of you for putting us on your blogroll. Thanks. We posted pictures of Kate on our blog. Take a look sometime!

  3. liz Says:

    I never knew you were a poet, Aaron! I bet this made your mom cry.

  4. Andrew Says:

    Great poem Aaron. It was fun to read your thoughts about Fathers’ Day. I can’t believe both pregnancy tests were on Fathers’ Day — what a conincidence!

    To tell the truth, for the past three years, I’ve been kind of lost on Fathers’ Day. I don’t really consider it a holiday for myself, even though I am a father. I think of it as a holiday for our dad. And when he’s not around to call, visit, talk to or tease, it just seems somewhat sad and empty. I guess it will always be so until the resurrection… bummer.

    On the bright side, I do have a wonderful father-in-law who I’m happy to say is a cancer survivor. I hope and pray that we’ll have many more Fathers’ Days with him.

  5. Andrea L Says:

    I love your poem. I read it to Dan and it made him laugh and smile. We look forward to reading more poetry on your blog in the future. 🙂


Leave a Reply

