The Top 5 Coolest Things

June 23, 2007

Here are the top 5 coolest things in my opinion. 

Best books

Kira and I are on our 3 time around reading them together.  They are so good.  We have dressed up, waited in the lines, and stayed up all night reading when they first come out.  The 7th book arrival will be no different we are HUGE FANS.    

Best restaurant

CAFE RIO.  We can never get enough.  I could eat there everyday.  We love their food so much that we have it down to a science when to go to miss the long lines.  We have probably gotten 15 free meals since we have been married—(free meal with after 10 meals).  

Best TV show

By far the best TV show I have ever seen.  I can’t put my finger on what exactly makes it so good, but it has the “it” factor and is riveting.  We have seen every episode every made and can’t wait to find out what will happen. 

Best Sport/Team—Cougar Football

     Unlike many guys I really don’t care about most of the sports.  I couldn’t care less about baseball, basketball, golf, but come football season I am a fanatic.  I can’t get enough of college football.  BYU cougar football has been my favorite pastime since I was 10.  I love to read all the stats and do my own analysis.  Kira and I have season tickets this year we even forked out the dough for our two year old, so Cougars you better awesome again this year! 

     Coach Mendenhal has become one of my heros.  He runs the football program like a mission.  He pairs them up in companionships, he has them write him a weekly letter, they do a certain number of service hours each week as a team, and they do a fireside where they all sing and some star players give talks and bear thier testimonies.  The team has gone from 3 returned missionaries to 71 out of 100 team members.  He has raised the bar and his players are rising to the challenge.        

Best music groups

   Il divo is a group of 4 classical singers singing familiar pop songs in 4 part harmony.  I love the classical sound and the harmony–so when I heard about them I was immediately interested.  I am a big fan now.  My favorite genre is probably pop-opera                                                               

 

Then there is Coldplay that was the favorite group of most of my seminary students.  To avoid looking out-dated I listened to them and actually really like them–either that or I am just saying that because I still desperately want to be cool.:)  To me Coldplay is to the teenagers today what U2 was to my graduating class.    

3 Responses to “The Top 5 Coolest Things”

  1. Andrew Says:

    Okay, I definitely agree with you on Harry Potter. J.K. Rowling is very clever and fun to read and I’m literally counting down the days until the 7th and final book is released (28 days to go). I will be sad when the final book comes out and I really don’t know how she will finish it all up satisfactorily in 780 pages. I’ll be there at midnight on July 21 to pick up my copy — probably from Wal-Mart since it’ll be the cheapest. I’m not sure whether I want to read it all quickly to find out how Harry dies (or the Dark Lord) or savor it.

    I watched an episode of “Lost” and got, well, lost. Haven’t had the time to watch the previous seasons, etc.

    As for Cafe Rio, you have an addiction, my friend and need to seek professional help.

    BYU football is pretty fun and I agree that Bronco has done some great things for that team. I went to one of his firesides a few months ago and was impressed. And that BYU-UTAH game last year was amazing! What an ending!

    As for Coldplay, I’ll have to give it a try. Any suggestions on where to start? Wondering if I can find some at the library? I’m not ready to commit just yet.

  2. Matt Says:

    Hey aaron, I’m just starting to get caught up on your blog. Pretty cool. I’ve never seen an episode of lost — I’ll have to start watching sometime.

  3. Andrew Says:

    Yeah, right Matt. Just like you’re going to float on a innertube down the Jordan River from the Great Salt Lake to Utah Lake…


Leave a Reply

